Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE)

The Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE) is due to come into effect from September 2021.

The Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA) has decided to transform the way you can qualify as a solicitor in England and Wales, by introducing the SQE as a new centralised exam system that will apply to anyone who wants to qualify as a solicitor.

In addition to passing the SQE, you will need to satisfy the requirements of character suitability, have two years work based training and a degree, apprenticeship or equivalent.

The SQE will be split into two parts where both parts will need to be passed to be able to qualify as a solicitor in England and Wales.

SQE (Part 1) - Legal Knowledge Assessments
  • Six computer based functioning legal knowledge assessments.
  • One practical legal research and writing assessment.
SQE (Part 2) - Practical Legal Skills Assessments

Five assessment areas:

  • Client interviewing;
  • Advocacy;
  • Case and matter analysis;
  • Legal research and written advice
  • Legal drafting

The five assessments must be passed in any two practice areas (in effect, ten assessments) out of the following practice areas:

  • Criminal Practice
  • Dispute Resolution
  • Property
  • Wills and Probate
  • Commercial and Corporate Practice

More information about the SQE can be found on the Solicitors Regulation Authority website or you are welcome to contact us.

Contact us